What do you wish you knew about self publishing?

LLTisdel

Registered
Reaction score
Website
illumismart.blogspot.com
I'm thinking of self-publishing my illustrated middle-grade fantasy novel. I've illustrated books for self published authors, but I've yet to be on the writing end. It's pretty overwhelming! From choosing a publisher to formatting, there is a lot to take in.

For those of you who are now self-published, what is something you wish you knew before you published your first book?

Thanks in advance for any input and experiences!

CathleenT

I write
Registered
Reaction score
Hmm...there's a lot, and I'm still learning. But a small sample would include this:

First, I don't believe it's a good idea to "choose" a publisher. Most people who publish for self-publishers are vanity presses. They charge you a lot for what you can do yourself. If you can format a Word document, you can publish on Amazon and Smashwords yourself.

As far as formatting goes, even if you're not going to use Smashwords, I recommend going to their site and picking up their free ebook for self-publishers. It has a lot of technical know-how on the correct way to format your Word document for publishing.

The real trick, other than writing a good book (some of that's in the eye of the beholder, but at least don't write an embarrassingly bad one), is coming to grips with promotion and book reviews. What's your plan for succeeding in this area? If you don't have a plan, your book will probably sink like a rock, no matter how good it is. Okay, you might get lucky, but luck is not a business plan.

And if you're a self-published author, like it or not, you're in business for yourself. You'll have to come to grips with all the associated tax stuff that goes with that.