Please be gentle with me!

redrobin62

Registered
Reaction score
Website
seattlewordsmith.wordpress.com
Hi. New writer, Robin Ray, here. Actually, I shouldn't say I'm a new writer since I already have six books (and counting) out on Amazon as we speak. I say new because I was recently "encouraged" to join up because my writing seemed, how should I say, lacking from a sci-fi publisher's point of view. I've been told my writing was already good, but you know what they say - one man's meat, etc. I'm hoping to make some nice online friends here. BTW, the sci-fi publisher told me that people will be downright vicious on Absolute Write. Sigh. Oh well. Bring the pain.

AcaciaNeem

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Robin, and welcome. I'm new here at AW, and find no savagery so far. Not yet in the crit forums yet though. All I'd say to you is, there's good and bad in all forums. And a lot of the times, harsh crits can provide more inroads into the next draft than those that are very sweet. (Personally, I'm all about crits that make the writer enthusiastic for the next draft, and the camp that believes that suggestions of improvement can be given without destroying the writer's morale.)

Plus, I wouldn't go in with any assumptions before experiencing the place.

AW has different kinds of reactions at different sites, but I guess we should all make up our own minds based on our own individual experiences.

mccardey

Self-Ban
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
BTW, the sci-fi publisher told me that people will be downright vicious on Absolute Write. Sigh. Oh well. Bring the pain.

Actually, we're quite sweet.

:Hug2:

:e2flowers

:Sun:

Welcome! And congrats on finishing your books.

Ari Meermans

MacAllister's Official Minion & Greeter
Registered
Reaction score
Hi, Robin. Welcome to AW.

Congratulations and best of success with your books.