Rejected on Another Forum, Which Brought me Here

Status
Not open for further replies.

Articulate Lady

Seductive Artist of Words and Ideas
Registered
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

So as you know, or may have seen, I am a newbie to this site. I put in my introduction, (I don't know how many read that), that I was criticized for a poem I wrote on another site. I mean it's just a silly poem, (that I wrote ages ago and I thought that was really good), but it was totally picked apart, line by line, with descriptive criticisms and technical pseudo-writer babble that I couldn't even decode. I mean they were treated me as if I was this advanced poet with a Master's Degree in English Literature, where I am just a simple writer who is just beginning to hone my craft. I may be a step below of a beginner if you ask me.

Anyway, someone on this site said something wonderful to me, which really lifted my spirits, which was, a critique of your work should make you want write MORE, not discourage you from writing. After reading the two pages of critique on my one poem, I was completely discouraged and really didn't even feel like trying. There are just so many times you can tell someone in plain English "you're doing this wrong." Anyway, I think I found my home here and I am going to leave that other writing forum behind. Too bad they got my donation though! I was so excited about being part of a writing community, I blindly gave them money to support their cause, when it is a toxic environment for beginners.

I will be mindful though to have a thicker skin, or be sure to put a "Be Gentle" disclaimer when posting my work on here when I get up to my 50 posts. I also plan on doing a lot of reading to see how the critics are on here. I am really gun-shy now, but I am not ready to give up just yet!

Maryn

Sees All
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Attagirl!