• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Complete newbie

thelondongal

Registered
Reaction score
Hi guys, I have read through some threads on here (but of course I could not read through them all) and I hope that I will not be repeating what was already asked. I would like to get writing, I have been walking around for some time with some scenes and an idea in my head - if you will - and i want to try to maybe put the "idea" in a book. I understand that an idea is probably not enough to have a book, but maybe if I work on it, it can turn into something.
I have reading through the plotting and some exercises, but my story (so far) does not quite have a designated antagonist.
I want to write a book a book from the point of view of "the other woman", basically an impossible love story about 2 people crazy in love but prisoners to circumstances - both are married. The more general idea that i want to demonstrate is that "the other woman" also has feelings, and love is not quite so black and white sometimes.

Any ideas, views as to how i should proceed, what i should start with - I would highly appreciate it.

Thank you,

Yuliya

BethS

Registered
Reaction score
Just start writing. You already have your "seed": an idea and some scenes. Plant it and see what grows from it. You don't have to know in advance everything that's going to happen, or anything, for that matter.

relletyrots

The One Who Tells The Story
Registered
Reaction score
I want to second BethS's advice. Just write. I know, it's hard to actually sit down and get your ideas onto the blank page, but it must be done.

It's easy to keep everything in your head, where it's safe. It took me a while before I actually managed to make myself sit down and write, but here I am, 25,000 words later and counting.