• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Blocked due to POV

KZsnow

Registered
Reaction score
Hello All!

I am a new writer and have been working on my own book in my spare time. I currently am blocked on how to go about POV in this novel. it has to do with two brothers, one is a drug addict. the other is the main character and will be in the first person. but I feel like I should go third person at some points in order for the reader to really grasp the reality of the situations the addict is in due to his connection to the main story line. I feel as if 2 first person views would confuse the reader. but I have also been warned in some of my workshops on not to have two different POVs. any and all feedback is appreciated :)

JoB42

Registered
Reaction score
I'll start with the obvious question. Is there a reason you don't want to do third person for both brothers?

KZsnow

Registered
Reaction score
yes, I feel as if a third person view isn't personal enough to see the impact of what one brother does to the others life. its about his road to redemption but from the other brothers point of view so the reader can feel the impact the addict is having on those around him, I'm trying to relate the reader. as most readers wont be addicts themselves but those affected by some sort of addiction. most people I know have had some family member or close friend with a problem relating to this.

JCornelius

Banned
Reaction score
James Patterson's Alex Cross series and Len Deighton's Harry Palmer series--main character is in 1st, the rest are in 3rd.

blacbird

Registered
Reaction score