• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Scenes before chapters

majordan92

Registered
Reaction score
I'm an amateur writer who is trying to transition from short stories to novels, although I have trouble trying to get started. My main issue is learning how to plot. I've been reading novels to get a feel on how they are structured while also spending time making a chapter-by-chapter outline, but it is still not enough for me.

I was thinking about my situation, and decided that instead of writing the chapters themselves I should create scenes first, then group them together into chapters later. It seems to make sense to me, but I wanted some input on this process before I move along.

Last edited:

Brightdreamer

Just Another Lazy Perfectionist
Registered
Reaction score
Website
brightdreamersbookreviews.blogspot.com
If it works for you, go for it. There is no one way to write a novel. Some sit down and write from start to finish. Some write scenes out of order, then put them together. Some write backwards from a climax. Give your approach a try. Worse case scenario: you try something else, but you still have more words written and a better sense of the story you want to tell than if you hadn't tried at all.

neandermagnon

Nolite timere, consilium callidum habeo!
Registered
Reaction score