Should I be installing McAfee on a MacBook Pro?

Dennis E. Taylor

Get it off! It burns!
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I asked this question in the "Forced Microsoft Updates", but it really should have its own thread.

I pulled the trigger yesterday--bought a MacBook Pro. But I'm an Apple noob, so I'm very slowly going through setup.

McAfee does sell a Mac version of their anti-virus package, but I'm wondering how many Mac users actually buy something like this (McAfee, Norton, whatever). Is the built-in firewall (which I've already activated) good enough? And should I be cranking the firewall settings up to full strength?

lizmonster

Possibly A Mermaid Queen
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
elizabethbonesteel.com
I asked this question in the "Forced Microsoft Updates", but it really should have its own thread.

I pulled the trigger yesterday--bought a MacBook Pro. But I'm an Apple noob, so I'm very slowly going through setup.

McAfee does sell a Mac version of their anti-virus package, but I'm wondering how many Mac users actually buy something like this (McAfee, Norton, whatever). Is the built-in firewall (which I've already activated) good enough? And should I be cranking the firewall settings up to full strength?

The saying in Mac communities of my acquaintance is that AV programs on the Mac are viruses themselves. :)

At my last job, I had to run McAfee in order to connect to the corporate network. It caused nothing but problems. Those of us running Macs (about 80% of the dev staff, IIRC) turned off every feature except the few that the network was looking for, and otherwise ignored it. During my tenure at the company, it never caught a single thing.

OS X is NOT immune to infection, of course; but the ones I hear about show up in things like counterfeit installers (if you must run Flash, ALWAYS go directly to adobe.com and download it there).