• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Descriptive Writing

Chloe007

Registered
Reaction score
I have a question about Descriptive Writing:

I'm a super beginner at writing fictional stories. I'm only familiar with philosophical and ideological essays. I've spent the last 10 years writing such non-fictional essays. Thus, my brain is used/trained to think in essay format.

When writing essays about Eastern philosophy or some ideas by David Hume for example, as an essayist we don't spent six pages Describing things; such as the landscape that Lao Tzu came from, how the wind flows through tree on the mountain tops of China, or the look and demeanor of David Hume and what his hair and beard looked like [if he had hair and a beard].

Lately I've had this desire to expand my writing 'skill' into the realm of fiction, science fiction/fantasy, romance, erotica, and so on. Unfortunately, I don't read fiction. I'm from the school of thought that fiction is silly because it's "fake." The last time I read fiction was in grade school, when they made us. But despite my personal opinions of fiction, I have this inner desire to write it, or produce it.

And so, I've spent the last month buying and readying a lot of fiction books into my kindle. I must say: I do enjoy reading fiction. It's fun.

What I've noticed in these fictions books is that they're formatted very differently from essays. In general, an essay is basically a written lecture or oration. What I've noticed with fiction is that these fiction writers have very skilled and often beautiful ways to produce descriptive writings, where they can take a cup in a scene of a chapter, and sit there and describe that cup for you in a few paragraphs where that you can experience the cup, you know what I mean?

So when I noticed this, I learned my biggest weakness: I don't know how to produce descriptive writings.