The phone call -- maybe

tko

just thanks fore everything
Registered
Reaction score
Website
500px.com
Probably a stupid question, but I'm nervous.

A solid agent (well known, established agency, good match, four novels coming out this year) has had my full for maybe 6 months now. A month ago she sent me an email saying she was just now getting caught up and would be reading my novel soon. Today she sent out an email saying she'd like to schedule a phone call. All wonderful, but she didn't say what the phone call would be about. Maybe I'm cautious, but I'm thinking she's on the fence for representation. Maybe she'd like to see how open I am to changes, whether we are a good match, whether I'd consider a rewrite.

Anyway, I'm not good at being clever in real time social interactions. I can find a list of questions to ask an agent offering representation, but how do I prepare for an agent who is only considering representation?

Shoeless

Registered
Reaction score
It could be for a few different reasons, but all of them are still rooted in the fact that she's giving you some serious consideration. It might be that she fully intended to offer representation, but wants to see how you two interact, since a person could write a wonderful book, but be a horrible person when actually interacting. Or it could be that she wants to talk about some revisions and a resubmit, but she's not sure how you receptive you'd be, and wants an actual chat to feel you out.

If you don't want to blank out on questions you might have for the agent if she's offering representation, then yeah, keep your list handy, otherwise, just be natural and see how you two actually get along. You could find that after speaking, you don't actually feel that you two click. You never know. I actually just went through this myself a few weeks ago, so I know what it feels like when an agent asks to make a phone call, but doesn't actually specify for what.

Sage

Supreme Guessinator
Staff member
Registered