Publishing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dmitriy

Banned
Reaction score
Currently I found myself in very uncertain situation.

I'm a writer/producer for big YA light novels series (100-110k words each). it's illustrated international project, there artists take a leading role (~150 full page watercolor pictures each book, artists are from China, Japan, Korea, Europe, New Zealand and even Mexico - 15 atrists at all). Whole work takes ~3 years and costs a lot of money - some of my artists are local tops and famous names - and a number of revisions (I'm learning how to write with two good editors from UK and US and their suggestions was very useful for me).

Few weeks ago I start quering our project to agents and publishers in US and UK (Germany and Poland too) and meets with problems.
1) Books are not for children - it's situable for 12+, even 14+ years and older because of harsh language, violence and sexual themes. But pictures are very... mild and warm (close to early Hayao Miyazaki works) and some people (mostly, the children mothers, ha-ha) said me what it brings wrong expression - reader wasn't wait for such blooded story looking on pictures;
2) I'm write in Russian (it's my native language) and all my texts are in Russian too (yes, for my English-speaking artists I made a rough English translation - it's also turn out very useful to fix the possible last errors in text, but at all it stills a very rough translation - i.e. I mean, native editor/agent/publisher instantly find mistakes in translated text which wasn't exist in original). Also, in my personal view and expirience, at the freelance market wasn't exist good Russian-English translators (only a retellers, who changed the text a lot, and it's wasn't suitable for me - they can't even deal with first 5 sentences correctly [it was not fun - they ask for 0.25-0.30 USD per word and can't do correct translation!]).