Romance where the love-interest dies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SwallowFeather

Oops I just swallowed a feather
Registered
Reaction score
Hi, it's my first time in this subforum and it's nice to meet you all!

So, I've mostly decided my next book is going to be a romance. WWII romantic suspense to be precise. I've got the setting, historical events, all the characters except the love-interest, lots of continuity already established in previous books... and for plot, brainstorms only.

In my current WIP (WWII suspense) I wrote my first romantic subplot and enjoyed the heck out of it. One thing I learned is that I go crazy for doomed love. Like, my characters genuinely couldn't be together; they were deeply devout in different religions, and at the end of the book they parted, perhaps forever, her escaping from occupied Europe and him staying behind. Bittersweet and all that. I loved it.

I've also been meditating on deaths of main characters, and, I just had this idea... this would be a book about young people (18-20) doing risky underground work in Occupied France, possibly Resistance stuff, definitely smuggling Jewish kids, and there's lots of possibilities for dying. I've been playing with the idea of having the female MC's mentor die. But then I started wondering...

What do people think of romances where the love-interest dies? Would you read that? Would you feel betrayed?

Thanks for answering!

BenPanced

THE BLUEBERRY QUEEN OF HADES (he/him)
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Here's how Romance Writers Of America, the primary group in the US for the genre, defines romance:

Two basic elements comprise every romance novel: a central love story and an emotionally satisfying and optimistic ending.

A Central Love Story: The main plot centers around individuals falling in love and struggling to make the relationship work. A writer can include as many subplots as he/she wants as long as the love story is the main focus of the novel.