• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

Multifarious Press

Filigree

Mildly Disturbing
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cranehanabooks.com
http://multifariouspress.com/?ref=staff

New one for me, spotted on #SFFpit yesterday. Started late 2016. Has some promise, but I have to be firm about my 'wait and see' rule. I'll check back in 2018.

The heartbreaking thing: I love what the founder has to say about authors giving up, and her honesty about making money with Multifarious. But I'm in the same boat that many fantasy authors are in now. If we can't grab an agent's or big publisher's attention, self-pub may be a better option for us than small press.

Harlequin

Eat books, not brains!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.sunyidean.com
Could I ask you to expand on that, Filigree?

Another question - what counts as big, these days? Big Five?

The website for MP is a bit all over the place. It feels a bit author centric to me as well. I'm not a professional though, that's just my impression from looking it over.

Last edited:

Filigree

Mildly Disturbing
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cranehanabooks.com
First, a caveat: everyone's publishing experiences and needs are different. What works for me may not work for others.

I have several mms ready to query, but for various reasons only one is suitable to query agents. I have specific reasons to look for a strong agent who 'gets' my work. I can't get a foot in the door of the best SFF publishers without an agent. Even Tor and DAW, who take unagented submissions, give preference to agented work.