First attempt at a synopsis ever . . . Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SKStark

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.skstark.com
So, I just recently (as of this week) learned of Camp NaNoWriMo. Of course, I immediately jumped over to sign-up, but was shortly thereafter faced with a challenge I've not yet encountered before. To join, you must provide a synopsis of your project.

I've never written a synopsis before. As you can tell from my post-count, I'm fairly new to this community and, in fact, the whole formal writing thing. How does one write a good synopsis?

I'm including my attempt, and critiques are welcome, but I'd be happy to just hear from you how you go about this process yourself. I'd also love to see your synopses!

Attempt for a currently untitled fantasy romance:

Three Bridges is a small, mundane village with ordinary folk leading simple lives. All his life, Rafe has known nothing else, traveled no where else, met no other people beyond the village, and that's how it needs to stay. Routine and monotony are the only things that keep the beast inside him under control.

Sinnia is an outcast of a people reviled for their ability to compel others, and a long tradition of creating harems of ensorcelled slaves. If her people find her, death would be a mercy granted only after they tore her mind apart.

Both are safe so long as they can keep up a guise of humanity. But when Sinnia stops in a small, mundane village on her way to the capital, she sees what no one else in Three Bridges noticed before. A man who is not a man, but a prize among her people. And she wants Rafe for her very own.

Maggie Maxwell

Making Einstein cry since 1994
Registered
Reaction score
Website
thewanderingquille.blogspot.com
You don't need a synopsis to join Camp. It's a casual thing if you want other people to know what you're working on. You could just put "first draft of a thing" and it'd be fine. Don't fret over it at this point. :)