Rejections

Micgee

Registered
Reaction score
Dear Publisher,

I'm kind of new to the torture of waiting for 'the reply' and the heartbreak of seeing: Thanks, but no thanks! and I believe that I will suffer many more for the art I love.

From the amount of research I'd done on publishers, the majority of you WANT a fresh voice. I've even read comments on how every manuscript received, is assessed by a competent person and notes made on why the manuscript is not a right fit for you. And in all the R responses I've received thus far, I'm supplied with a whole paragraph on how it's a great story, BUT...

You mention the mountain of submissions you receive on a daily basis, and apologise that you're not able to give a more detailed response. I find it kind of heartbreaking that you're asking for a unique voice, when the best you can offer in return is just another generic publisher's rejection.

You really don't have to sugar-coat it and give me a whole hogwash paragraph. If I know what I'm doing by choosing you to send my manuscript to, I already KNOW that you receive thousands of submissions and can't accept them all.

I guess I'm just hoping for more guidance and empathy for all writers out there, because it's damned hard for us too.

So, IF you are making notes, how long could it possibly take to type: Sorry, a crap idea - or - Sorry, 1st grade grammar.

I guarantee you that just those 4 words would mean a lot more to me and it's certainly faster to type, than to even cut-and-paste that horrid 'no thanks' paragraph!

Kind regards,
A Paragraph Collector

mccardey

Self-Ban
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Dear Publisher,

I'm kind of new to the torture of waiting for 'the reply' and the heartbreak of seeing: Thanks, but no thanks! and I believe that I will suffer many more for the art I love.