Word choices to include people who identify as genderfluid or nonbinary?

Anna Iguana

reading all the things
Registered
Reaction score
Hi, all. First time in this forum. Here's my question, then a bit about me. What word choices do you make to include/acknowledge people who identify as genderfluid, genderqueer, or otherwise do not identify solely as female or male?

For context, I'm a middle-aged cis woman. As a young person, I studied women's studies (that's what it was called then). At the same time, I was raised by editors who instilled appreciation for precise, brief language; that meant specifying singular vs. plural in pronouns and possessives and saying "women" and/or "men" rather than "people." But that leaves people out.

In casual writing, I will use "they/them" as ungendered singular pronouns. Lately, though I'm writing poetry, and word choices are weighing on me. The rhythm of a line or the balance of a whole piece is affected by each syllable added or removed.

-As writers, what language related to gender/nonbinary do you use?
-I would especially appreciate your thoughts on poetry.

PS to MacAllister: I searched for an existing thread. Closest I found was http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?289203-gender-neutral-pronouns-s-he-(s)he-they-one. That thread, while useful, stops in 2014, and this area of language has been changing quickly. Please move/close this thread if appropriate, though.

ManInBlack

Registered
Reaction score
Website
williamsilvia.net