• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Looking for Betas for Speculative Fiction Betas 100k Adult Novel

Status
Not open for further replies.

phantasy

I write weird stories.
Registered
Reaction score
Looking for beta for an Adult speculative fiction 100k novel. It's a post apocalyptic with dystopian and utopian settings, diverse characters, paranormal powers and some philosophy and science. Plenty of action and intrigue.

I'm looking for more big picture crits more than anything and I'm willing to message you my wip query if you want. I've been writing for five years and this is my second novel, so you won't be dealing with newbie mistakes. You might even be entertained. :)

Dream Beta (not required):
Has a written at least one novel, published or unpublished.
Is or used to be active in the AW community.
Writes dark fantasy, spec fic, or science fiction.

I might not answer back too quickly, as my internet has been inconsistent as of late.
Thanks!

Last edited:

Harlequin

Eat books, not brains!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.sunyidean.com
I write spec fic, and would be willing to swap. I haven't published, but I'm done (ish, after 5+ full rewrites) and have had a paid editor (she's on the final section) and lots of betas.

I'm really struggling to know what feedback is useful or not, since most of my betas dont read or write spec fic. In particular, I think my first section has pacing issues and I want to know how the complexity feels to other people. I've posted here before asking for short swaps but ended up not getting round to it because of waiting on editor.