Like a Virgin

Status
Not open for further replies.

MerriTudor

Registered
Reaction score
Website
crampedquartersblog.wordpress.com
No. This post isn't literally about a virgin. That was just click bait.

But, this post is virginal, in that it's my first time here in the Romance/Women's Fiction category.

I have, at last count, 8 historical romances simmering away in a large cauldron that I stir once in a while. One of these works has lately floated to the top and is managing to hang in there for longer than 20 minutes - the length of my attention span. These works are not in novel form - they're like very large synopses with scenes, dialog, character musings, historical research and plot points all cobbled together in no particular order. A friend says that they're like condensed books - just add water.

I can't keep muddling around, one to the other on a whim, or I'll never make a proper book out of any of them. In addition to my short attention span, I'm also blessed with the ability to procrastinate until the cows come home. And once they're locked in the barn. And when they wake up the next morning and amble out into the fields again. Generation after generation of cows. You see what I mean.

So...I'm about to focus my energy, get off my bee-hind, grab that little story before it sinks to the bottom again, and try to tease out Chapter One. It's actually all in my head, I just need to pull it out and put it on paper. Why is that so difficult? Why do I keep saying to myself, fiddle-de-dee, I'll think about that tomorrow?

If anyone has any advice on how to just START for heaven's sakes, I'd appreciate it! Or if you're having difficulty starting, maybe we can start together.

ElaineA

All about that action, boss.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.reneedominick.com