Your first review

megan_d

Falling in the milk
Registered
Reaction score
So I'm very new to this whole self publishing game and so far it's felt like a lot of noise from me and a lot of indifference from the world. But today I got my first review! Kinda makes all the effort feel a bit worth it. I know it's nothing in the big scheme of things, but you've got to take what little victories you can, right?

Do you guys remember the very first review you ever got? Did it feel like a huge deal for you too, or am I just a big ol' dork?

WriterBN

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.k-doyle.com
Reviews are hard to come by these days, so treasure every one! (Well, except maybe the one-star reviews that simply say "Great book!". Yes, I do have one of those...)

I don't remember the first review I received, but it's been a while. I'm sure it was a huge deal back then.

ASeiple

Livin' la vida biblia
Registered
Reaction score
It does feel good.

There's always that niggling doubt, right after you publish, that doubt that you're any good. What have you done? People will laugh at you! How dare you pretend to be an author!

Then the sales go through, and the stars come in, and it's like oh. Oh, I can do this.

From that point on, it gets a hell of a lot easier...

flutterpulse

Registered
Reaction score
My first review was from a fellow English major I went to school with. It was thoughtful and honest, and ended up being 4 stars - can't ask for much better! :)

Catherine

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Congrats on that first review! Those little victories are exciting. It may be just one step, but it can mean a lot. I say celebrate those moments and let them be a catalyst to keep you moving forward, step by step, until you reach the next milestone.

Though I can't speak about reviews, I was thrilled to get my first proof copy.

Last edited:

muse

standing on head, typing one-handed...
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score