Where should I promote consensual mind control?

charmepearson

Registered
Reaction score
So I've got a story going to be released on Smashwords in April, and I was looking for places to promote it.

The thing is, I suspect it's a fairly specific kind of erotica—plenty of telepathy stuff, plenty of D/s, no nonconsensual elements—and I don't know where I should go make noise about it. (In fact, I'm pretty new to the promotional aspect of the business in general.) So, I guess the question is: I've got a niche product, I've presumably got a buyer or two out there somewhere, but how the heck do we find each other?

L.E.N. Andov

Registered
Reaction score
Heya!

Not my kind of story but I might have a suggestion for you.

First, locate the other stories in the sales category you want to install yours into. Grab the author name and book titles. Begin by googling the author, see what points of contact they are attempting with the wide world. Next, google the titles and see what you can come up with. Obviously you aren't looking for places to sell your book. You are looking for places to promote your book.

When you do visit a sales page take notice of "customers also bought", "other titles by", etc. Rinse and repeat.

Reach out to real people who you think are your target audience. Black nails and piercings? Silk robes and candles? Boldly ask them if this sort of thing is their bag (baby). Once you narrow into WHO you have written for, then you can begin building an audience. You are less likely to catch a fish, even with super bait, if you cast your lure onto land- go fishing where your fish are buying.

Hope that was helpful.

(A)

Cobalt Jade

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
If you're on Twitter, you can tweet to any number of tags, like #erotica, #mindcontrol, etc.

charmepearson

Registered
Reaction score