Using short stories to improve your writing skills

Status
Not open for further replies.

TravelHat

Forever learning
Registered
Reaction score
Although I have written many factual articles over the years, I am new at writing fiction, and loving it. We will see if this holds true after my 100th rejection slip party.

I have plotted out a first novel, which I think is pretty good, and have tested it with a few writers who like it as well. Being a project manager for much of my career, the planning part comes easy for me. However, as I am writing out my scenes, I feel that I lack the skills to actually tell the story like I envision it in my mind.

Therefore, here is what I am doing to help me grow as a writer.

1. Writing short stories to improve my skills and my confidence. As a side benefit, after I have a few successes under my belt, I might actually have some name recognition which would make pitching a novel easier. Funny thing is, I am enjoying writing the shorts, and it might be a long time before I go for the big one.
  2. Reading everything I can about writing, and trying to implement as much as I can in my own work.
  3. Reading other short stories and novels with a critical eye towards the writing style, e.g. what worked for me, and what didn't -- and why. This has opened up a new world for me in developing my own style. I guess it is kind of like re-watching a movie, trying to judge camera shots, pacing and dialogue parts of the storytelling.
  4. Joined a local writers group.
  5. Planning to attend a writers conference.

OK, I would love to hear from some of you more established and skilled writers. Is this a good strategy? What worked for you? Any additional advice for me and probably others in the same situation?

Thanks
Michael

stephenf

Registered
Reaction score
Hi