A Question About Simultaneous Submissions

Luxtizer

Registered
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to submitting my short stories, and I have a question about the general practice when it comes to submitting stories to multiple markets at once.

Right now, I have a story which is submitted to a few different markets, all of which specifically say that they are willing to look at pieces which are currently being considered by other markets. I've also seen markets which ask that you not submit works being considered by other markets. Obviously, I'm not submitting my story to those markets until I get rejections back from the places I've already sent it.

My confusion is about what to do with the markets that don't make their policy on the subject clear. I've found a number of token paying or non-paying markets which I think might be a good fit for my story, but their submission guidelines don't say anything at all about whether or not they'll consider simultaneous submissions.

What should I do with these markets? Should I assume they won't consider simultaneous submissions if they don't say anything? Should I assume they will consider it and submit the story? Should I send some sort of query before submitting the story and see if I can get them to say whether they'll consider it or not?

Thank you in advance for the advice.

Undercover

I got it covered
Registered
Reaction score
I would assume the markets that don't specify is fair game. If they didn't like you sending to other places, they would say it in their guidelines.

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
I'd also assume that if they don't specify that they want exclusivity you're good to include those markets in your submissions now.

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score