Where Politics Meets Self-Publishing ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiloMilo

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
In the wake of the recent, catastrophic, election, I wrote a short gift book, a political parody along the lines of 'Quotations from Chairman Trump' or 'A Child's First Book of Trump.' I'm a traditionally-published author, but I want to get this on Amazon immediately, to sell it for this Christmas. It's edited and formatted and ready to CreateSpace. I'm still waiting on the cover.

My social media footprint is as tiny as Trump's fingers. So I'm thinking of marketing via Twitter ads aimed at Democratic women, basically. Or using AMS. But other than that ... I have no clue. Any suggestions for how I might get some exposure for the book? Press releases, I suppose, though I don't really have a background in PR. Could start a Kickstarter or ... one of those crowd-thingies?

Any brainstorming much appreciated!

R. Milo

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
You might find this thread helpful:

[h=3]How to promote your book like an intelligent human being and not an SEO Dweeb[/h]
You might also like to check the legality of what you're doing, with people who have the appropriate legal qualifications to give you good advice (that is, lawyers, not random people on the internet). Trump is notoriously litigious, and has money to throw at such things.

MiloMilo

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
Thanks! I've read that one. It seems to me that along with problems, there are possibly some benefits to having a book with such a narrow focus, and such a short lead time. But I'm not sure how to harness them.

I would -love- if Trump sued me. Instant bestseller, and all my donations to the ACLU would finally pay off! :)

My fear is that nobody but my friends will ever _see_ this thing. Sad!

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score