• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

How can I learn sentence level craft?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Axiomae

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a fairly new writer and after submitting a chapter in the YA SYW it's obvious that there are "rules" of writing that I don't know. I'm not a trained author, but an avid reader, and I tend to judge whether I like my writing based on its rhythm and cadence. One critter, for example, pointed out my use of "ing" words. After a quick Google I realise that they are frowned upon.

Does anyone have any resources, books or links, that focus specifically on this sentence level? Everything I read seems to be about plot and character and business etc, but where do I find out these "rules?"

Many thanks!

Jason

Ideas bounce around in my head
Registered
Reaction score

VoireyLinger

Angel Wing Fetish
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.voireylinger.com
I've found the best way to hammer out writing quirks is to let someone with more experience get their hands on my writing and point them out. Craft and style guides can be good, but having someone show where those guidelines apply to my work was far more helpful.

As for -ing, there is nothing wrong with it as a whole. They become problematic when they lead to loose writing and the overuse of participle phrases. If you know these are weaknesses, looking for -ing can help tighten your writing.

Mrs-Q

Registered
Reaction score
Critique is really important. Look for a really wide variety of critique. I know a few people who became attached to crit partners with similar weaknesses. Remember the point is not to make every suggested change, but to see what resonates with you or does not. Remember, though, if people across a wide variety of settings don't like something, it's probably wrong.