Considering doing editing part-time

Christracy19

Registered
Reaction score
I'm currently enrolled in college and looking to make some money part-time. My mother is published so I have a lot of background as far as story writing goes. I critique and edit my friends manuscripts regularly and many of them have been suggesting I charge. I'm more story structure rather than grammatical, but if there is some sort of market for someone like me I could really use the money.

Let me know if you guys have any suggestions, thanks.

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
My second-hand experience, one of our kids' former romantic partner who edits, is that there is more money in a college environment if you are able to do the grammar and usage kind of line editing, since most schools have a fair number of students enrolled who are not native English speakers. They want to turn in papers that contain few or no blunders an ESL speaker might make, so they pay for edits (and in most cases, try to learn from them). In Jess's experience, some wrote better than many native speakers, and others wrote so poorly it took a face-to-face to know for sure what they were trying to say.

Students writing fiction have no urgent need to succeed right now, so your critique of structure and other big-picture issues may not be within their budgets. Marketing yourself beyond campus can be difficult and/or costly.

WeaselFire

Benefactor Member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Tutoring will likely bring you more steady work and money, or working at your local fast food joint. Developmental editing, what you describe, is a harder gig to sell without some serious writing or editing cred, or a MFA in creative writing. Having a published relative unfortunately doesn't get you anything unless you edited her manuscript. After all, you can't call yourself a combat flight trainer just because your brother joined the Air Force. :)