• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

Out with the old, in with the new

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hello,

This is a strange request. I’ve been writing for many years now and am a creature of extreme habit. I get up at the same time each day and perform a rigid breakfast ritual before starting work – always the same coffee, always the same breakfast. I write notes freehand before transferring to a word processor. I know this is a long way about it but somehow it’s the only method that works for me.

I wrote these notes whilst sat at my antique writing desk. It was the only place where I felt comfortable doing so.

ori_2323_2063579661_1119484_8.jpg

Sadly the writing desk is no more. A small fire at my house led to irreparable damage. I want to buy an antique desk to replace it but suitable ones are somewhat outside my budget. The problem is that I am struggling to write without it. I know it’s a purely mental block but I can’t seem to work around it.

Does anyone have any similar experience of attachments to particular equipment or any other peculiar habits they had to change in order to keep working? Are there any methods you would recommend? I have never suffered from writers block before and this is incredibly frustrating.

Any help gratefully received.

Last edited:

elizabeth13

Registered
Reaction score
I had this happen to me - I've very attached to specific spaces, and when I left college, I couldn't find a single place in Manhattan where I was able to write.

Unfortunately, my best advice is trying a bunch of other places until they click. For me, I had to find somewhere that was quiet and well lit where I could stand up.

draosz

Registered
Reaction score