Recently Self Published Author Seeking Some Marketing Advice

SarahCat

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
Hi everyone,

I recently self published my book first children's picture book. If I have learned anything from my writing journey, is that you need to be proud of your book. I love writing and I have accomplished something I have been working on for many years. I enjoy teaching young children, and I believe that reading with them could potentially make a lifelong difference in their lives. I want to use my books to help promote the importance of reading and never giving up on something you believe in. With that being said, I am writing because I am looking for some marketing advice.

In this day and age, there's no doubt that a website is an important marketing tool. I have been researching options for a website and looking over many writing threads on AW and other writing communities. I want to make sure that I am making the best move to get my writing career off of the ground.

Some authors that I have discussed marketing with believe that using platforms such as Facebook and Twitter is a suffice web presence to start out with. Others say that investing in a professionally designed web presence could potentially lead to the start of your fan base. I know that "getting the word out" is important, but I want to hear some opinions about using social media vs. a website. Ultimately, I want to have both. Should I invest some of my money up front, or wait a while? But how long to wait?

The truth is, every author's situation is different, and because I am just starting out, I still have a great deal to learn about marketing. I am currently making a plan for other marketing techniques.

Someone wise told me "you get out of the business what you put into it." While this may not always be true, if you are doing something you are proud of, you need to put the effort into marketing your products.