Writing/Blogging myself into a new job/industry?

maximal

Registered
Reaction score
I joined an online writing challenge to give myself a kick in the pants. I want to write about FinTech (financial technology). I'm studying so that I can become a researcher this industry. The sector is dominated by people who don't look like me, and I thought writing as I learned could give me a little edge. So, I thought I'd start a blog. That has been a nonstarter because I can't decide on an audience based on my experience level. I don't know anything!

I've considered writing a 'basics' series for newbies, opinion pieces on industry happenings, and I am brainstorming other types of pieces. I do not want to write a personal blog about the process of learning because I don't think that fits with being a mature student. Have you written your way into a niche successfully? How did you define your audience? What do you think I should keep in mind? Is it possible to under/overthink this? I...I....uh, Thank you!

Also I am new. Be brutally gentle.

Last edited:

NateSean

Vulcan/Time Lord Hybrid
Registered
Reaction score
You said you want to write about financial technology but that you don't know anything. So, what gave you the idea to write about it in the first place?
Is it something you want to pursue a career in? Are you preparing for college and is this a major you're considering? Are you within range of a place that hires people with this level of expertise and could you schedule a reverse interview with one of them, to find out more?

I don't know if you'll blog yourself into a new job. You and about ten million other bloggers want to do that, but that doesn't mean a blog can't be a useful tool for education and marketing.

maximal

Registered
Reaction score
So, what gave you the idea to write about it in the first place? Is it something you want to pursue a career in?