Thinking of giving up on querying and writing my book series

ewizz31

Registered
Reaction score
I'm beyond feeling discouraged. I've been querying on and off for six months and only got one manuscript request and was ultimately rejected. I took some time off from querying for my mental health and now I'm back at it.
I've queuried around 70 agents total. I'm so sick of the fact my whole future as a published author depends on if just one agent and then a publisher like my book and no one does.
My genre isn't popular right now in the sea of YA and fantasy and I understand agents have a job and want to sign authors who have books that will sell "now".
I've thought about self-publishing which I don't want to do with this series. I've self-published a novella before but I really want the esteem of being tradiontally published for my own self esteem and validation. At this point, I feel like self-publishing would be considered a failure.
I want to finish my book series but what's the point if it's never going to see the light of day and no one wants to sign me?

Kerosene

Your Pixie Queen
Registered
Reaction score
I suggest checking into the Share Your Work section. Read about, critique, and earn up your posts. When you hit 50, put up your query and opening chapters. It can make a world of difference.

Outside of that, if you don't want to self-publish or trade publish, do whatever you want. What's the point of writing something no one will read? Well, perhaps to enjoy writing it? It's not like publishing is the only goal in writing.

Treehouseman

Registered
Reaction score
OK, two things. I queried hundreds of agents for my trilogy, got one that fell through and now I'm going to self publish it. There's that. And I'm going to write 3 more books in the series, I don't care if they only sell one copy each. I don't care.

Secondly, who in their right mind wants to read a book whose ONLY purpose for getting written was for the author's esteem and validation?