Status
Not open for further replies.

poetinahat

say it loud
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
1. When did you start writing poetry?

From around the time I could clutch a pen and form letters. Dr. Seuss got me fascinated with rhyme by the time I was three. I can’t say my grasp of metaphor was particularly strong at that age, but I was turning out little rhyming verses early on in elementary school.

2. What other writing do you do regularly?

I have a novel in the works, and another on the back burner.

I’ve also done a lot of legal writing (I’m a lawyer), but I’d just as soon forget about that, if you don’t mind.

3. Do you think of yourself primarily as a poet?

Yes, I guess I do, though I don’t introduce myself that way at cocktail parties. But I do think my brain is wired for poetry. I tend to work metaphors into everything. Even my legal briefs sometimes contain them.

4. Why do you write poetry?

All of my poems have some personal relevance for me. Each is a snapshot of an emotion, person, or event – a memoir of where I’ve been at a particular point in time. Even if a poem is not directly about me, it captures something that moved me in some way or riffs off some experience I’ve had.

In addition, writing poetry is therapeutic for me. The act of writing a poem very often helps me work through how I feel about something. I’ll suddenly realize why a metaphor or image is stuck in my brain and won’t let go, which in turn leads me to a better understanding of a situation, another person, or myself.

Finally, I love playing with language. I get deep pleasure from nuances of words and the cadence of lines.

5. How does writing poetry relate with your other writing?

I find myself reaching for some of the same tools and applying the same principles – incorporating metaphors, slicing sentences down to essentials, choosing exactly the right word.

6. Beyond Absolute Write, what is your publication/performance history?