Not open for further replies.

Laer Carroll

Aerospace engineer turned writer
Registered
Temp Ban
Reaction score
Website
LaerCarroll.com
When I got serious about writing I tailored for myself a miniature MFA creative writing program. I studied books in public municipal and university libraries, mostly on literary history, author biographies, critical theory, and writing craft. Few books warranted a total read. After a while a lot of the information repeats.

One of them which bears not only reading but rereading is Stephen King's On Writing. I just read it for maybe the fifth time. Here are a few things I got out of it. I'm sure you have your own. I'd love to hear them.

Part of the book is autobiographical. In the craft part King began by saying many of his pointers applied mostly to him. Because each of us is different, what works for some may not work for others.

However, there is one of his rules which I believe applies to most of us. The way to succeed is: READ MUCH, WRITE MUCH.

In reading we instinctively learn what a story is and how stories work. The more widely we read the more we learn and re-learn and re-re-relearn. Our subconscious is usually smarter and more flexible than our conscious minds. The lessons become part of our subconscious. When we write we often intuitively use them in more flexible and sophisticated ways than if we apply them in rotely mechanical ways.

Every time we write - even quickly dashed off posts to AW - we practice our craft. Even unfinished works, even bad works. Maybe especially bad works, if we re-read them with a critical mind. There are few lessons that stick with us more than the ones which come from when we really screw up.

King's way of writing a story is to imagine an interesting situation and play with it, discovering a story or stories which emerge from them as if by washing debris surrounding a fossil. For him when the people who emerge begin acting on their own he knows the story is birthing itself.