Not Christian/Mainstream Enough?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SunshineyDay

Registered
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

So, I've been querying for a few months now, and I've come to the conclusion that there may not be an agent or a publisher who wants to touch my manuscript. Not because I don't believe the writing is strong, but because of the content. I'm a Christian writer, and I wrote a main character who is also a Christian. I set out to make my book as a whole, just a "regular" book; it's completely non-preachy and I'm not trying to beat anyone over the head with a message of salvation or anything. I never intended to sell it to the Christian Fiction market. It seems that most everyone in that corner is against speculative fiction, plus there are a few scattered swear words and some fairly heavy topics like multi-racial families, adoption, and death. There's also a marital affair, though I feel like it's handled in a very redemptive way.

Anyway, because I have a Christian MC, it seems this book may be "too Christian" for the mainstream market, and yet, "not Christian enough" for the Christian market.

Does anyone have experience with this sort of situation? I understand that self-pub is always an option, but I feel incredibly overwhelmed with that route. Should I keep plowing ahead with querying (I'm ready and willing), or do you think my impression may be correct? Any and all help is appreciated!

Latina Bunny

Lover of Contemporary/Fantasy Romance (she/her)
Registered
Reaction score
If the story's ready, I would keep going with the querying process and see what the agents and publishers say.

BTW, if you don't mind my asking, how do you know it's the Christian MC that is the problem?

I don't think just having a Christian character doesn't mean it will automatically be Christian Fiction (or for the Christian marker).

It really depends on how you choose to portray the Christian part.