How often does your writing style change when it comes to short stories?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gettingby

Registered
Reaction score
I recently wrote my best story ever. I love everything about it. I think this is the one that is going to get me published. This story represents the kind of writer I want to be and the way I want to write.

All that being said, this story is quite different the my other stories. I don't know exactly what it is. I think the writing style is more mature maybe. It comes across more genuine. I would like to believe that this is what my writing has evolved to, this level of writing. I was trying to figure out how many short stories I've written before this one. My guess is around 100.

But this got me thinking about how often our writing styles changes. When I started writing short stories, I thought I was a minimalist writer. I used short, clipped sentences and had very little description. That can work, but I wasn't able to publish anywhere with those pieces. I went through other phases, thinking each time I had found my voice. I tried being plot driven. I tried being character driven. I tried being funny. I tried being serious. And, of course, the whole time, I tried being good. After four years of writing short stories like crazy, I think I finally wrote something that is really good. But I think I had to go through several different writing styles before I found this one. I guess it's sort of a blend of some of the other styles.

How often does your writing style change? I would say I've given each style a good few months and several attempts. It's not like I ever decide I'm going to try a new style, it just sort of happens. How does it happen for you guys?

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score