Only enough to get myself in trouble

ElaineA

All about that action, boss.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.reneedominick.com
I am not tech savvy, and I'm struggling with whether to just take my computer to someone who knows what they're doing.

Long story not-so-long, I have a Dell netbook, relatively new. It came installed with Windows 8, but I purchased it right as Windows 10 was being rolled out. Windows 8 was okay, but I made the mistake of letting Windows 10 go ahead and download onto the computer. Everything was fine for months, then it began a slow-speed crash. Once I finally got to the point where it wouldn't boot, I sought help first from Microsoft, and then from Dell. Turned out Dell never optimized drivers for Windows 10 for my computer. @_@ (I did search the Dell site before the download but my computer was not listed as incompatible at that time. It is now.)

Fine, did a clean reinstall of Windows 8. Only now, I have some corruption to do with the BITS file and I am supposed to find a good working copy of Windows 8 and c/p the uncorrupted file right into my computer NOOOOO PROBLEM! I am not capable of this level of poking around in the inner workings of the computer, and frankly I'm somewhat baffled how the freshly reinstalled OS is already corrupt.

I have a sneaking suspicion that whatever keeps going wrong originates with Flash player. This time it happened when I allowed an update while working in Firefox. I was a Chrome user, but the continual flash player crashes made me cray-cray, so I went back to FF. I also wonder if, perhaps, when I let Carbonite re-populate my computer with my backed up files, something corrupt came back with them?