Daily Goal--Really Works (For Me)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Diana Rubino

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.dianarubino.com
What I've been doing for many years is setting a 2,500-word daily goal (about 10 pages). This isn't too taxing, and doesn't exhaust me. The only exception I made was when an agent requested my unfinished vampire romance, and I churned out 5,000 words a day to get that finished. I had to push myself, but I got it out.
I don't stop writing till that 2,500 words is out, no matter what time it is. This is all first draft stuff; I don't edit along the way. Diana
www.dianarubino.com

Paragraphic

Word eater.
Registered
Reaction score
I write this way too! I have an outline so it's really just sitting down and doing the writing. I did my last couple of books at 5k a day (5 days a week) and had the first drafts done under a month each. I fell into this way of writing. I used to wing it, no outline, no word-count-a-day set up, but when I was writing the first book of a series I had all these ideas for the other books and started writing them down on a separate doc. By the time I was done with book 1, I pretty much had an outline for book 2 ready to go.

I'd definitely suggest giving this a try for anyone looking for a new writing process. Daily goals also make you feel like you're getting somewhere (because you are) every day.

HeavyAirship

Aboard my phaneron.
Registered
Reaction score
It's very doable if you're working from an outline, although word count will vary. I've just been trying to do 500 a day and excluding my October of sickness I've been averaging around 1k words a day. It's definitely a faster way to write than pantsing it but I've got to admit to feeling a little constrained by my outline and not being able to throw in a vengeful ghost or surprise evil twin for fear of wasting the hard work I did to outline in the first place.

2,500 words a day is pretty awesome. I wish I had the energy to do that consistently.