Hodderscape Open Submissions- Anyone heard back yet?

eirewriter

Registered
Reaction score
Just curious.

(Who am I kidding! Dying to know)

Undercover

I got it covered
Registered
Reaction score
They say you should receive a response by the end of Sept ( this month) I would safely assume if you haven't heard by then it's a no.

Pterofan

Trust me, I'm a writer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.pterosnest.blogspot.com
Don't assume anything. I have yet to be involved in any open call that responded by the given date. We don't know how many entries they received. Harper Voyager's open call got, what, 4500? If Hodderscape got even half that many, I don't think we'll be hearing back by the end of September. Christmas may be a conservative estimate.

Even the ones that go on for years (and I was in one of those) do respond eventually. Don't take a lack of response by September 30 as an automatic no. I suspect around September 29 they'll be issuing a statement telling us they got more entries than they were expecting and asking us to be patient. Unless they say, "We've picked out the ones we want. Thanks, everybody." Then it's a no.

In answer to the original question, I haven't heard anything yet.

RetsReds

Registered
Reaction score
Sometimes Sofia, Bulgaria. Usually - some quite bl
Nope, nothing here. And I agree with Pterofan, having some experience with open calls myself (non-English ones, tho. I hoped things will be different in the English-speaking world, but I expect delays here as well) - they'll say when they're ready, so until then don't despair if you haven't heard anything.

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
Anne Perry (Hodderscape editor) will be at Fantasycon next month. I'll try and ask her about progress.

noranne

the possibilities are endless
Registered
Reaction score
Website
nora-bailey.com