Hi I'm Shy_Mom!

shy_mom

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm a newbie so this is the place for me!
I've been writing my whole life it seems like, but really got serious in the last five years or so. Novels I have no problems banging out, but I've had a big block about writing queries, synopses and getting involved with other writers.
So I'm going to just throw myself into this and see what happens.
As my name not-so-subtly implies, I'm shy as heck. Wallflower, shrinking violet, retreating turtle, all the cliches apply to me, but I'm going to do my damndest to get over it here.
Anyway I suppose that suffices for an introduction? Glad to be here, hope I fit in!

mccardey

Self-Ban
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
That's a great introduction, and Iowa is a brilliant place for a writer to be from. Welcome to AW. We're all shy here - except CassandraW. And Haggis, of course. And PuttPutt and Cornflake. And - oh hey, never mind....

CassandraW

Banned
Flounced
Kind Benefactor
Reaction score
Pfft. Don't listen to mccardey. I'm totally bashful. However, I shall push my natural reserve aside in order to welcome you to AW.

jaycel_lee

Registered
Reaction score
Welcome, shy_mom! (And thanks for welcoming me. :))

I completely understand about feeling shy. I remember once in fifth grade rehearsing what I would say during roll call over and over in my head. Everyone else said "Here!" and I decided that I would say "Present!" to be different, but I was afraid that I would forget (or sound like an idiot), so I rehearsed what to say until my teacher finally called my name and I squeaked out "present", but in not in the tone of voice I'd intended at all. I was silent the rest of the day. (Most days, actually.) I lived in fear that the teacher would call my name. Not because I didn't know the answer (I definitely did since I was/am a bit of a know it all), but because I was afraid it would come out wrong and I would sound stupid.