Another Newbie Intro

Becca Jay

In Perpetual Query Letter Hell
Registered
Reaction score
Hey, guys!
I'm a super newb. I've never blogged or joined anything like this before so I'll take any and all advice.
A little bit about myself: I write YA novels and fantasy. I've had one of my manuscripts looked at by an editor and have shared my ideas with my sister, my husband, and my friend. All responses were positive so I started trying to get published almost three years ago. I have yet to succeed. Every few months I change my query letter, revise my manuscript, and try again but I'm obviously doing something wrong. In yet another polite rejection letter from an agent, this website was mentioned. I have to admit, I'm a little nervous about putting my work out there but I think that's my problem. So here I am, trying something new! I don't have much experience in reading other people's work so I don't know how helpful I'll be in critiquing. But I do read a lot. Who knows? Maybe I'll do someone some good. Looking forward to learning from you guys!

Becca

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
A pleasure to meet you, Becca. There's a lot of material here to help you on the journey to being published--and plenty more to distract you from the effort.

Meanwhile, though, do tell me the temperature in Phoenix, where I once lived. I'm thinking it's hot here (western New York state), but I expect you'll prove me wrong.

Maryn, glad you're here

regdog

The Scavengers
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
welcome.gif

Take some time and read the Newbie Guide and the Stickies found
at the top of Forum pages. They are your best guide to learning about
Absolute Write.

Please read the FAQ about posting photos.

In fact we have lots of brilliant FAQs check them out.

Members who want to start a thread in Share Your Work to have work critiqued need