Table setup questions [Book Festival]

RKarina

Registered
Reaction score
Website
rochellekarina.com
I just got confirmation I'm participating in the annual book festival here. It's a huge event, well attended and people tend to go to the author's tent to buy books.

Each author gets a 4-foot table space and a chair. They provide the table drape, and a basic, 8.5x11 sign (all of them are identical - festival branding, author name, title or titles).

The author is responsible for decorations, other signage, any promotional items/giveaways, etc.

I'm not a newbie to the trade/festival/show marketplace, so I do understand the basics of putting together an attractive display. But... I have some questions, and some "hey, I thought maybe...." ideas that I'd like other opinions on...

• Basic design: in such limited space, I'm thinking a freestanding vertical banner for behind the table - featuring book covers, author headshot, and web info. Simple and colorful. (I am uncertain of my exact location in the tent so I don't know if I can go horizontal - some spaces you can, others you can't, and I won't find out until about 2 weeks before the festival - too late to order a banner).
  • Table design: I'm considering using an ipad with a slide show of appropriate images (I've got plenty, and they suit the thriller that is the full-length novel I'm promoting), as well as a guestbook/sign up to receive author updates (paper and pen type), a candy bowl, and whatever promotional items I have. Copies of the books, blow-ups of the covers behind them, and plenty of business cards.