To Pseudonym or Not to Pseudonym

miragefiction

Registered
Reaction score
Website
raecarver.flavors.me
Do most of you write under your real name or do you use a pseudonym / pen name? I'm assuming pseudonym for most erotica writers, but I wanted to ask to make sure. My day-job environment is pretty open-minded (lots of burlesque and theater folk), but my family is pretty conservative. I'm leaning towards using a pen name myself, but I was wondering how you would operate within social media in regards to real identity vs. assumed? I don't have a ton of followers on Facebook or Twitter, but it would be nice to use them as a jumping off point instead of creating new accounts for my new name with a totally blank slate. I'll admit I also don't think I would have the energy to keep up multiple accounts... Anyway, any advice you can give on this topic would be much appreciated!

Beachgirl

Not easily managed
Registered
Reaction score
I absolutely use a pen name. My day job is too high-profile in my community to mix my career with my writing name.

I have a blog, email and Twitter account in my pen name. I'm awful about keeping them updated, so I'm probably the last person you'd look to for advice on how to do it right.

Maryn

Sees All
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I use a pseudonym, although the way things are I could probably have used my real name. It's just easier not to wonder if the bank teller, my kids' friends' parents, the distant cousins, or the uberChristian guy who mows our lawn knows what I write, you know?

Maryn, whose name is not Maryn

Laurasaurus

Registered
Reaction score
I decided to go with my real name.

I write erotic romance rather than erotica. So it's not UTTER filth. ;) I don't have a sensitive job, and I don't really mind if people I know read it.

I don't know, I might decide I've made a mistake at some point, but I just really wanted to see my name on the cover of a book.