Complete Newbe in need of help

DrewBurton50

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am a complete newbe on this forum and a complete novice to book writing and have come here to humbly seek help.
I have just finished a draft of my first book which I have written using ms Word 2013 (.docx) after jumping into the task without any worthwhile previous experience of book writing or, in fact, ms Word. My goal is to publish my work in digital format with Amazon and perhaps Kobo and Google Play. Again, my knowledge relating to this is negligible.
In spite of my ignorance, after doing a test conversion of my book to Epub (I own a Kobo Aura) using Calibre, I was pleasantly surprised at the result. The book rendered very well IMO. The layout, index etc. where perfectly acceptable to me however.............the images that I have included were all over the place :(
When I was writing my book, I wrote my text in the way I wished the final draft to appear and inserted images/diagrams of varying sizes and formats into my office document and then resized them to suit my format within the document. Unfortunately (?), when I converted my document to epub, the images did not appear anything like the way that I wanted them to be :( and after reading further It has become apparent to me that these images should have, perhaps, been resized before inserting them into my document.
To cut rather a long story short, could any of you good people out there point me in the right direction as to the best (least time consuming) way to resolve my issue. If I do have to remove my images, resize them, then return them to my document, I need to know which tools perform this process and would probably need a bit of guidance and/or instruction. Better still, if there is a simple tool out which will perform the task for me, I would very much like to know what it is.
I would much appreciate any help and guidance that anybody here is prepared to give me.
Thanks for listening.

BradCarsten