The Man who Folded Himself [By David Gerrold]

infinitefrank

Padawan
Registered
Reaction score
Website
infinitefrank.weebly.com
This is my all-time favorite book...of all time, and influences the way I write and look at science fiction. I am a science fiction writer and Gerrold's writing style is a perfect mix of action and philosophy. I don't think it was a very popular book, nor have I even read any other of Gerrold's other novels.

Has anyone ever read this gem?

mrsmig

Write. Write. Writey Write Write.
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
David Gerrold? Author of the famous "The Trouble With Tribbles" episode from the original Star Trek series? I had no idea he wrote novels. I'll have to look it up.

Introversion

Pie aren't squared, pie are round!
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
He's published a pretty long list of novels. I believe he's still writing and publishing.

I remember liking "The Man Who Folded Himself" and "When Harlie Was One" 25+ years ago when I last read them. Not sure how well I'd think they held up. "Harlie", in particular, being about a computer that gains sentience, probably feels very dated due to where the state of the art has moved.

infinitefrank

Padawan
Registered
Reaction score
Website
infinitefrank.weebly.com
mrsmig said:
David Gerrold? Author of the famous "The Trouble With Tribbles" episode from the original Star Trek series? I had no idea he wrote novels. I'll have to look it up.

The very same and please read it, it's an amazing book!

Introversion said:
I remember liking "The Man Who Folded Himself" and "When Harlie Was One" 25+ years ago when I last read them. Not sure how well I'd think they held up. "Harlie", in particular, being about a computer that gains sentience, probably feels very dated due to where the state of the art has moved.

SPOILER! SPOILER! SPOILER! SPOILER! SPOILER!

Time belts will never become unfashionable ;)

eyeblink said: