Big Five or independent?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PrairieWoman

Registered
Reaction score
Here's a stupid question: I'm a new author, and my debut romance is attracting interest from both a small publisher and a Big Five ebook imprint (which is asking for revisions and is suggesting a series). Depending on contract details, is it better to go with a Big Five? Do I need an agent? Thank you!

Aggy B.

Not as sweet as you think
Registered
Reaction score
It kind of depends on which small pub and which Big Five imprint.

Unless there is something horribly wrong with the Big Five contract or absolutely spectacular about the small press, I would go with the Big Five imprint, but even that has no guarantee of success for your book. (It does usually mean more resources and experience though.)

If you want an agent, now would be the time to send a query with the subject line "OFFERS OF PUBLICATION RECEIVED for My Fantastic Novel Title". Make sure you name where the offers are coming from. Only query folks you really want to work with (because now is not a time to be looking at agents you aren't sure about).

If you aren't interested in getting an agent, you don't have to have one, but they can add a lot of value to contract negotiations that more than makes up for the 15% they get as payment.

Filigree

Mildly Disturbing
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cranehanabooks.com
First, congrats! Second, there are very few truly stupid questions.

If you are considering a Big Five arrangement with some revisions, you'll probably need an agent. A good one can help you navigate contracts, rights, advances for better terms than you'd probably get on your own. A Big Five contract tends (but not always) to be more lucrative than small press.

Can you write a series? Always a good question, whichever you choose.