Using internet forums for sources?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RAstarlight

Registered
Reaction score
Hey everyone! :)

I posted a question in the section for those seeking interviews and sources - from here in the WC. But I was also wondering if anyone ever goes to an internet forum/community seeking out people who might want to share their experience(s) for a story (i.e., for a magazine - not fiction)?

With moderator approval of course!

I'm a freelance writer, and the last time I did service journalism work, I met people the old-fashioned way - met them in person for interviews, etc.

I think an internet forum based on a particular issue or interest could be a great place to meet people who would like to share and give a quote for a story - but I have no idea of the ethical implications and/or the etiquette for it. I don't mean "expert" opinion - just a "man on the street" POV.

Is that a big no-no?

As an aside, I'm a member of a forum for a chronic illness and I wouldn't mind if someone wanted to discuss it with me for a story - but then again, I'm a writer - so of course I'd be OK with it, lol. :D

Thoughts? Thanks in advance!

Brightdreamer

Just Another Lazy Perfectionist
Registered
Reaction score
Website
brightdreamersbookreviews.blogspot.com
Do you mean general websurfing of sites and forums to gather general ideas, or more in-depth research where you engage with people, via forum or PM or other means?

I'd think the ethical thing to do would be to ask up front, either when you join the forum or before you use anything said (particularly direct quotes) in your work. Be honest about what you're looking for, and how you mean to use information you're gathering. I wouldn't think there'd be a problem, so long as you're honest, though some topics - and people - are by nature more sensitive than others.

Respect your sources.

RAstarlight

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Brightdreamer, thanks for the advice! :)