• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Where do you feel inspired to write

Status
Not open for further replies.

dontpanic

and carry a towel
Registered
Reaction score
I'm sure this has been asked before but searching the forums didn't yield many results.

I'm trying to find new inspiring locations to write. I'm a student so I have my set academic writing spaces and find it hard to write creatively there. I'm debating rotating through my favourite local cafes, but wanted to hear from you guys. So, where do you feel most inspired to write? Do you background noise or complete silence? Do you take a laptop/device or use pen and paper?

Thanks! Hope 2015 is turning out to be a good writing year :)

Fruitbat

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I find that my routine inspires me to write. I think that's more important than what the routine actually consists of. My mind seems to have made a connection between the usual set up and "time to write!" automatically. It's not much different from how at a certain time of the day, the table's set and food in the oven, I'm hungry or after I've brushed my teeth and put on my jammies, I'm tired.

For me, late at night, on the sofa, coffee, a lit candle, music (the same song over and over, a different one for each story), and of course nails polished and rings on (I don't know why, maybe it's a lucky charm like the Bingo ladies bring along or just that seeing my spiffy hands fly over the keyboards keeps me focused). I also have my hand weights and cleaning stuff so I can go back and forth between writing and short breaks where I get up and move and do something physical (and also maybe get encouragement from those little achievements, who knows).

That said, sometimes a whole different set up adds new energy too. But my routine is the staple.

Last edited:

bkendall

Registered
Reaction score