AW Amazon Store

If this site is helpful to you,
Please consider a voluntary subscription to defray ongoing expenses.


 

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: [Publishing svcs] Reedsy

  1. #1
    Banned for Spamming
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1

    [Publishing svcs] Reedsy

    Hi Guys,

    Here's a quick message to present you Reedsy! We are building a community of top publishing professionals (editors, illustrators and soon marketers) to work with authors: https://reedsy.com/

    Reedsy is committed to enabling the future of high-quality indie-publishing.

    It's free for authors to use and hundreds of authors have already created their personal profiles!

    Reedsy is very curated: so far, 200 amazing publishing professionals selected among 3,000 applications. They are coming from the best publishing houses and have about 4,000 books in their portfolios. Here are some of them:

    Some of our editors include:
    Jane Friedman: https://reedsy.com/jane-friedman
    Rebecca Heyman: https://reedsy.com/rebecca-heyman
    Kiele Raymond: https://reedsy.com/kiele-raymond
    Averill Buchanan: https://reedsy.com/averill-buchanan
    Tom Flood: https://reedsy.com/tom-flood
    Richard Sheehan: https://reedsy.com/richard-sheehan
    John Hudspith: https://reedsy.com/john-hudspith
    Dominick Montalto: https://reedsy.com/dominick-montalto
    Harrison Demchick: https://reedsy.com/harrison-demchick

    And amongst our designers are:
    Emma Graves: https://reedsy.com/emma-graves
    Mark Karis: https://reedsy.com/mark-karis
    Kerri Resnick: https://reedsy.com/kerri-resnick
    Alejandro Largo: https://reedsy.com/alejandro-largo
    Nicole Caputo: https://reedsy.com/nicole-caputo
    Kate Gaughran: https://reedsy.com/kate-gaughran
    Daniel Cullen: https://reedsy.com/daniel-cullen
    Mark Ecob: https://reedsy.com/mark-ecob

    Any thoughts or comments are more than welcome!

  2. #2
    Mostly Harmless SuperModerator CaoPaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Coastal Desert
    Posts
    13,105
    One dares hope the marketers coming soon will be savvier than the current one(s).
    Last edited by CaoPaux; 01-12-2015 at 10:01 PM. Reason: rampant verb
    ICAO
    ---------

    Censorship always defeats its own purpose, for it creates in the end the kind of society that is incapable of exercising real discretion. -- Henry Steele Commager
    Achievers strive for excellence. Perfectionists drive themselves to extinction. -- A Grapple A Day
    I've never known any trouble that an hour's reading didn't assuage. -- Charles DeSecondat

    II 2016: 2017:

  3. #3
    Writes About Writing AlexisRadcliff's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    30

    My Experiences Using Reedsy.com to Find an Editor

    Hey folks! I just got done using Reedsy through a full cycle with an editor I found on there. I know a lot of you shop around for cover designers and editorial services, so I thought you might be interested to read a thorough review of the whole process.

    Excerpt:
    Reedsy excels at its core competencies: Making connections with a large group of qualified freelancers fast, easy, and relatively painless, providing good data about the skills and background of those freelancers, and handling payments in a way that's extremely convenient.

    Those competencies are the real value provided by Reedsy's marketplace. I'm certain the other tools they're building will be interesting and well-designed, but right now I'm perfectly happy using Word's track changes feature to take feedback from my editor, Gmail for correspondence, and Scrivener to create files. The alternatives to those tools which Reedsy is building need to be better or more convenient than what I have now to make me want to switch, and that's a high bar to meet.

    As much as I loved using their marketplace, the 22% real premium on contracted services is a little too high for me to go back and do it again under the current model. The 10% is a little easier to swallow, and better still if it's on the supplier side so it's baked in as part of the initial quote. Ideally, I'd want to pay Reedsy a flat fee for the introduction (a finder's fee of sorts) and only pay thereafter if I really like using their platform services. In any case, I think the site would be all-around more attractive to authors if the costs are kept on the editorial and design side, just like they would be for 3rd-party contractors on Amazon, Uber, or eBay, which would also make price-shopping comparisons onsite and offsite easier.

    That said, if you don't mind paying the premium and highly value how streamlined their process is, I can't think of a better place to quickly find and reach out to a plethora of easy-to-reach freelancers with high-quality credentials. You can still find very reasonable prices on Reedsy for the services you want, and they have a team of talented and passionate people working hard on providing a great experience for authors and freelancers alike. I have nothing but respect for their efforts and wish them all the success in the world.

    I'll be watching them closely in the coming months to see how their tools develop and how the pricing structure changes, because honestly I'm not looking forward to going back to the old way of finding freelancers to work with right now. I'd love to use them again, but only if the price was right.
    You can read the whole article here, along with some comments I got when I reached out to their co-founder Ricardo Fayet: http://www.lexirad.com/reedsy-com-re...s-experiences/

  4. #4
    a demon for tea EMaree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    4,458
    This got a mention in an e-mail to Janet Reid's blog recently so I decided to register and check it out... and yikes, folks, if you love your tidy inbox don't bother. Their entire marketing plan is just aggressive mailing to all registered users. You will get e-mails every single day until you unsubscribe.

    More importantly, the range of available editors is rubbish. I keep a list of reputable editors and hoped to find some of them on here. I found none of them. Not a single familiar face.

    The UI for finding an editor is also really poor: no prices visible, no clear listing of editing types available or per-word rates. The UI is too busy trying to push you towards putting a book on their showcase to bother making the editing options clear.

    Don't waste your time with this, imo. There's so many great editors out there with individual websites, clear rates and testimonials. This site provides no value and is only trying to make a commission out of its users.
    Website/Blog | Twitter | Instagram (Dog Pics!)
    Avatar by Britt. Still the same teademon (or teadragon, depending who you ask).

    I have an agent!

    Writing:
    M/M British Urban Fantasy
    With Agent (eeee): Giant Robots Project

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Custom Search