Batik for Curtains?

Fruitbat

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I want to jazz up my bleak and desolate laundry room, with paint and new curtains. I like some batik fabric on fabric.com but I am not crafty and don't really know what it is or if it's sturdy enough. I just like the designs. Can I sew a white lining (for the side that faces outside) on batik fabric and use it for curtains?

Last edited:

heza

Registered
Reaction score
(I should probably ETA: that I'm not an expert seamstress...)

Batik is a dying process that uses wax to prevent the medium from soaking up dye in certain parts of the design. The process is repeated with different colors to build up a multicolor design. It's similar to Pysanka egg dying. Batik fabrics are usually a tight weave with high thread counts and come in silk, cotton, and rayon. Because of that and a sometimes waxy feeling residue in the fabric, they're a little stiffer (like stiff cotton sheets) and don't have a significant drape to them. Now, you might find batik-looking fabrics of various types of material that are lighter and have a more significant drape.

I've heard that batiks are really wonderful to work with. I haven't had the chance, but here are tips I've seen.

The cotton batiks tend to hold onto dye, so wash the material in hot water with a color fixative (and also wash your lining fabric so you won't have uneven shrinkage if you need to wash the curtains later). You're supposed to air dry (but not in the sunlight) or machine dry on a very low heat setting (and buy enough fabric to account for possible shrinkage). When you iron it, use steam and a pressing cloth. You don't want direct heat.