Writing in second language

Status
Not open for further replies.

authorMAF

Registered
Reaction score
Website
authormaf.com
Well, here's the thing: English isn't my first language. I learnt it when I was five years old, communicating with the neighborhood kids, but went to French school until about halfway through high school. Then I quit, and went back about six years later, by then my French grammar was gone, and so I finished high school in English instead. I'm also in my fourth year of university, which I am attending in English.

The problem is, I'm starting to feel like it's time to throw in the towel; not only with my manuscript, but in writing, period. I mean, it's all well and good to read English grammar books (which I have been, in the last 10+ years), but I'm starting to think maybe, I just shouldn't write to publish anymore. My English clearly sucks, and I certainly can't afford to pay a professional editor, and while I love to write, I've always done it to tell a story, to share it one day (and hopefully make some money with it since any little amount helps a single-mom). So if I'm not writing to publish, then I no longer see much of a point, and that really plunges me into despair, since I spend 80% (if not more) of my time, writing.

I'm not sure what I'm looking for in posting this here...I suppose I just needed to write it out...I don't have anyone in my life I can talk to about this, no one even knows I write, and those who do, just aren't interested in hearing about it at all...

Last edited:

Antonin

▐п╣�▀╪? ╧ы§�Й!
Registered
Reaction score
Um, your English seems fine to me. I would not have known it wasn't your first language had you not mentioned something. So that's something :)

Trying to get published sucks though, and its normal to hate absolutely everything when you're trying to do it.