Storyteller

CynHolt

Registered
Reaction score
Hello all, I’m sort of an oddball around here. I don’t really consider myself a writer. I think of myself as a storyteller who writes. This was not my dream. I’m not fanatical about words, but there are these stories and their characters running around in my head and it’s time to let them out.

I've already had a couple of careers, including wife and mother. I was a Real Estate Broker, then went back to college and got degrees in Religious Studies (my field is the ancient world). I’m now retired, but would like to work on some textbooks at some point, also. It was my daughter (the writer) who suggested I try this forum. I’m not new to forums and I’ve been poking around for a couple of days. I like what I see, intelligent, thoughtful individuals.

I’ve got all kinds of questions. My writing has begun with a series of books in the Science Fiction genre. They take place in a proposed distant future. The first book is done, but I want to be farther along with the second book before I claim I can write a series. When I say Science Fiction I’m referring to the genre that writes commentary on current social, political, and economic structures in a created future as did Asimov, Bradbury, and Roddenberry. I’m not a scientist, but I try to stay true to current understandings of the world around us. There is no magic, no immortal beings, no fantasy in my stories.

My questions are about blogging, publishers (yea or nay), beta readers, advertising/promoting my work. So, I thought I would start looking into all of that while I work on getting out more of my series. I've already found the Tiki bar, second booth on the right.

regdog

The Scavengers
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
hello.gif

Take some time and read the Newbie Guide and the Stickies found
at the top of Forum pages. They are your best guide to learning about
Absolute Write.

Please read the FAQ about posting photos.