When an author is asked to "do their own marketing"

RightHoJeeves

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
I keep reading about how authors at trade publishers are increasingly being asked to do this... but what does this actually mean? To me, marketing means paid advertising (eg paying to have an ad in a magazine or whatever). I would assume publishers would never ask an author to put up money for that sort of thing, so is the author's job to contact the local radio station and pitch and interview or something?

Cheers

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
I know of no such requests by trade publishers. However, an editor might suggest the author work on getting a fan base. That's quite different from "marketing" at a publisher level. Authors just starting out often confuse the two, but the customer of the publisher isn't the reader. It's the companies that sell books TO the reader. Marketing dollars put toward an individual title are to give the book the best visibility in stores and websites (you didn't think those "Look Inside" hyperlinks or "Buy Three for the Price of Two" on Amazon are free, did you? :roll: No, the publisher pays big bucks for those promos.

However, the relationship between the author and reader is different. The publisher puts the books in front of the readers and the authors either do or don't choose to promo to readers. Now, I do. I consider it a good value for the money to pay for display ads and website banners where readers congregate. What splash I want on a given book depends on a number of things: Cover design, position of the book in a series, calender tie-ins, etc. The first of a new series will get some splash in print ads. I'm fortunate that my publisher will help with design, since I suck at art. Some magazines bundle a print ad with an article, which gives higher visibility.