• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

Daily harassment, please

Status
Not open for further replies.

spinningdoc

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a long time writer (journalism, copywriting and scripts for a living, basically) writing my first novel. Maybe my only novel, too...

As Mark Billingham said once 'the thing with novels is there's a lot of typing...', and I've discovered that without an external deadline, like a client or a producer or a news editor screaming at me, my main talent so far has been procrastinating instead of sitting and hacking out the a first draft which I know all too well is what's required at this point (having done all the planning I need to, and a modicum of research). The point is to get something to change.

So my cunning plan here is to find someone to harass me into writing, and I'll do the same for them. Every day, we have to email each other and confess how many words we churned out in the last 24 hours. No critiquing, no whining, no BS - just admitting what we have or haven't done. I'm reasonably sure that this'll shame me into actual work.

Any takers?

Antonin

▐п╣�▀╪? ╧ы§�Й!
Registered
Reaction score
I've found that that idea doesn't always work. Hell, it never worked with me for any project I've worked on.

Maybe you just need to work on some self-discipline. Start small and reward yourself while gradually pushing yourself harder and harder. That's what I had to do.

Hapax Legomenon

Registered
Reaction score
I have a hard time believing that this will work on anybody who does not write full-time.

summontherats

Generally More of a Lurker
Registered
Reaction score
Website
fairieszombiesandqueries.wordpress.com
Thanks for the comments. Anyone actually want to help?

I'm going to pipe in and say this could totally work. I am also being totally unhelpful, since I don't think I, personally, can help.